Baby Fever – Am I Ready?!

Recently, I have found myself wanting another baby.  I must be crazy to want to be pregnant again.  Maybe it’s all of the babies that have been born this summer.  My Facebook feed has been filled with new bundles of joy!  I would say at least one baby every two weeks.  And recently, there have been a lot of people announcing pregnancies.  I find myself jealous.  If we would get lucky and conceive right away, I would have two under two!  AHHH!  That would be pure madness.  Or, would it?

I’ve been weighing the pros and the cons.  And when I say I have been weighing, I actually mean my husband and I.  I find myself bringing the topic up every day.

One of the first obstacles would be to either add on to our current house or find a new house.  We currently are busting at the seams in our current house.  I’m not sure we could fit another human in this house.

Next, would be the cost of daycare.  Even after paying for daycare, I would still be bring some money home plus I pay for the health benefits.  We would be talking about DOUBLING the cost of daycare.  Yeah, there are some incentives to having two in daycare.  We would get 10% off of one, but we are still looking at a large amount!

Lastly, how do you divide your time between multiple children?  Obviously it can be done, but it’s something that would need to be learned in our house.   Right now, our little man gets all of our attention from the time I pick him up until he goes to bed.

NOW! – For the pros!!

I would love to have a baby to hold and cuddle again!  My little man still cuddles, but only when he is tired.

I want my children to be close in age.  I was close in age with my brother and it was nice to have a friend.  Don’t get me wrong, we weren’t always close.  But, now that we’re older we are able to be close friends.  I want that for my kids.  I know there is no guarantee, but being close in age sure can’t hurt!

I want to be young when I have all of my kids.  I want to be able to run around and keep up with them.  When they are older, I want to be able to still be active.

Other people are able to overcome the obstacles.  If everyone always waited until they were 100% ready to have kids, there wouldn’t be very many people having babies.  I don’t think you can ever be 100% ready, but you have to be 120% ready to give unconditional love and support.  I AM ready for another!!

Leave a comment